The John P. Salamone Memorial Scholarship is awarded annually to a West Essex Regional High School senior male and female who have exhibited their excellence as scholar and soccer athlete and most typify the spirit of John Salamone. These scholarships each in the amount of $3000.00 are in memory of John Patrick Salamone a 1986 graduate of West Essex who lost his life at the World Trade Center on 9-11.

On Thursday, June 19th, 2003, at the 41st annual West Essex Senior Awards Ceremony, these scholarships were awarded for the first time to Jessica Colley of North Caldwell and Michael Cross of Roseland. Jessica attended Miami University, Coral Gables, Florida and Michael attended James Madison University, Harrisonburg, Virginia.

Other Recipients :

2004 Toni-Anne Cavallo and Mark Picardo

2005 Michelle Verde and Robert Sinicola

2006 Toni Pompeii and Kevin M. Picardo

2007 Alexa Notte and David Rasmussen

2008 Allie Shearin and Thomas E. Ponsart

The Foundationís philanthropic outreach since 2004 has included grants to elementary schools in the West Essex area. The Board of Trustees selects two community schools every year to receive a grant in the amount of $500 each for an educationally related program for its students. These grants are in the name of John so that his spirit and legacy of love for children and life continues.


The John P. Salamone Memorial Endowed Scholarship was established by family and friends with proceeds from the John P. Salamone Memorial Foundation in order to honor John Patrick Salamone, class of 1986, who died in the World Trade Center disaster on September 11, 2001. The scholarship is awarded annually to a student leader from New Jersey, New York or Connecticut who is involved, or demonstrates the potential to be involved in campus activities such as the intramural program, the athletic program, etc. The student must maintain a 2.5 or higher grade point average. While males and females from the tri-state area are eligible for the scholarship, preference is given to a male student from New Jersey. The first scholarship recipient is presently being selected for enrollment in September, 2004.>

   Niagara University


Back on top